Friday, October 18, 2013

Review: Cowgirl Trail by:Susan Page Davis

Cowgirl Trail (Texas Trails #5)
About the Book:
Cowgirl Trail is part of a six-book series about four generations of the Morgan family living, fighting, and thriving amidst a turbulent Texas history spanning from 1845 to 1896.  Although a series, each book book can be read on its own.
In 1884 Maggie Porter returns to the Rocking P Ranch. The sanatorium was not able to save her mother and now her father's health is failing. When the cowboys walk off the job leaving no one to drive the cattle to market, head ranch hand, Alex Bright, cannot convince the men to stay. How could Alex let this happen?
Maggie is desperate to save the ranch and she turns to the town's women for help. The new cowgirls must herd, rope, and drive the cattle to market. With only two days left, outlaws charge the small band of cowgirls in an effort to start a stampede. The cattle begin to scatter. Will they lose everything? Where will their help come from?

About the Author:
Writing this book was a lot of fun, but also a great deal of hard work. I learned a lot about women on the cattle trails while doing my research. Captive Trail, my earlier book in this series, won the 2012 Will Rogers Medallion Award in the Western Fiction category. I hope you enjoy this story of faith, forgiveness, and adventure.

My Review:
 Maggie Porter's father owns Rocking P Ranch and he's always treated his ranch hands fairly.  But since she's  returned from a long trip he seems to barely even care about them. He isn't willing to up the ranch hands pay even though he took their cattle. This may just be the beginning of the end for the Rocking P. But Maggie is determined to fix all her father's wrongs and make everything right again. But things may not go as she had planned.

 Alex Bright, the head ranch hand at the Rocking P, has known Maggie since she was 13 and is amazed that she is finely back home after being gone for so long. But now isn't the time for welcoming much less rejoicing, the ranch hands are talking about striking. Alex doesn't think that striking will do any good, so he tries to calm the men down. But soon something happens that causes even Alex to go against the boss. Will the Rocking P soon fall apart? Or can Maggie save it?

 If you like books that are in a series then this is the series for you. The Texas Trail Series takes you through four generations of the Morgan family. It is a nice series, because you get to catch up on what is going on with this less than boring family. Written by multiple authors each book has different twists and turns that seem to always meet in the middle.

**Disclosure** This book was sent to me free of charge for my honest review from MP Newsroom.

No comments:

Post a Comment