Thursday, April 18, 2013

Litfuse Review: The Dog That Talked to God by:Jim Kraus

 About the Book:
Recently widowed Mary Fassler buys a Miniature Schnauzer, Rufus, and her world is turned sideways in the midst of her grief.  It seems that Rufus speaks. And not just to her. He also talks to God. When Rufus begins sharing advice that could result in major changes, Mary gets the feeling the pooch might not be steering her in the right direction. Or, is she just afraid to take the leap and discover something she desperately needs? Only Rufus...and God...knows. "Jim Kraus has written a funny, heartfelt novel in the tradition of Garth Stein and John Grogan. For a long time dogs have been man's best friend. It only made sense one would finally come along to save our souls." - Rob Stennett author, Homemade Haunting and The Almost True Story Of Ryan Fisher "I loved this story. Quirky and unusual, this unique tale wove a spell around me and drew me in. It wasn't what I expected at all, and when I turned the last page, it left me wanting more." - Ane Mulligan, Sr. Editor of Novel Rocket "The Dog That Talked to God is a moving and powerful read, inspirational long after the last page has been turned." - New York Journal of Books

About the Author:
Jim Kraus grew up in Western Pennsylvania and is a graduate of the University of Pittsburgh. He attended the Paris-American Academy in 1971 and has spent the last twenty years as a vice-president of a major Christian publishing house. He has written more than 20 books and novels (many with his wife, Terri) including the best-selling The Dog That Talked to God (Abingdon Press, 2012). His book, The Silence, was named as one of the top five releases in 2004 by the Christian Book Review website. He is also an award-winning photographer. He and his wife and 14-year-old son live outside of Chicago with a sweet miniature schnauzer and an ill-tempered Siberian cat.

My Review:
 A terrible accident has left forty something Mary Fassler alone. She decides after awhile that a companion may do her heart some justice so she purchases a Miniature Schnauzer from a very uptight breeder. She soon settles on the name Rufus but has no reason for the choice. Rufus seems to be a very sweet, spirited, lovely dog. He doesn't act up and isn't violent. But soon kind hearted Mary sees that there is so much more to this dog than meets the eye.

 Jim Kraus is a very articulate writer. The Dog That Talked to God is a very unique book written from the main characters point of view. You are soon entrapped in her life but not in a bad sort of way. You want to learn more about her and her predicament. I found myself falling in love with her and Rufus almost immediately. This book is a different book than what I'm use to but above all it was very enjoyable and speaks right to the heart.

**Disclosure** This book was provided to me free of charge for my honest review from Litfuse Publicity.